First begun as a fall fair by the County of Sydney Agricultural Society in October of 1853, not much is known of what would eventually become the Eastern Nova Scotia Exhibition until 1917 when accurate records were maintained. The early exhibitions were held on the east end of Antigonish, in an area commonly known as 'The Elms' where present day St. Andrews Street is located. Some features of the original exhibition have remained unchanged over the years as pens for displaying livestock, grandstands, and tracks for contest and showings remain unchanged. The current Exhibition does not include the number of bars that the original did.
Held at the Eastern Nova Scotia Exhibition Grounds, this annual event showcases regional agricultural showmanship and production through a variety of events, contests and displays. Live entertainment, a parade, horse pulls, carnival rides and animal husbandry contests all add up to create an entertaining, family friendly event.